Victoria Falls White Water Rafting: Seasons, Rapids and Prices
Victoria Falls white water rafting runs through the Batoka Gorge on Grade 4 and 5 rapids, and it is one of the most talked-about days you can spend on the Zambezi. This guide compares rafting from the Zimbabwe and Zambia banks, explains the low-water and high-water seasons, and sets out what the day actually costs once park fees, visas and photos are added. Every figure comes from operator listings and published sources, and the page says plainly where sources conflict or stay silent. For the wider picture, see the comparison of the river tour comparison on the homepage.
Quick answer The short answer
Victoria Falls white water rafting is Grade 4-5 water through the Batoka Gorge, runnable in low-water season from roughly August to early December and in reduced high-water form for the rest of the year, with a full closure in peak flood. Listed prices start at $140 for a half-day trip from Livingstone with Maano Adventures and from $180 for a full day from Victoria Falls town with Shockwave Adventures. Commercial rafting has run here since the early 1980s, and operators put clients into the same gorge from both banks. The main physical cost is not the rapids, it is the steep climb out of the gorge at the end.
Key takeaways
- Compare the two rafting days we list: Shockwave full-day rafting from Victoria Falls and Maano half-day rafting from Livingstone.
- Pick your window with the low-water and high-water season guide.
- Read the safety section on flips, the climb out and age limits before you book.
- Still choosing a bank? The Zimbabwe or Zambia guide breaks down the two towns.
Grade 4 and 5 rapids below the falls.
Rafting Season: Low Water and High Water
The Zambezi below the falls swings between a trickle and a flood, and the rafting run changes with it. Water levels decide which rapids you run and whether the river opens at all.
The Two Seasons at a Glance
Low water is the season most guides point to. Exposed rocks make the rapids bigger and more technical, and the put-in moves all the way up to the Boiling Pot directly beneath Victoria Falls Bridge, in the spray of the falls. Operators including Shearwater and Wild Wings Safaris describe the low-water window, roughly August to early December, as the most exciting rafting of the year, with December the last month of excellent conditions before levels rise.
High water flips the picture. When the river floods, the first ten rapids become unsafe and trips start at Rapid 11, about 10 km downstream, and run through to Rapid 23. In peak flood years the whole river closes, usually from around March until levels drop around June. Sources differ on the exact high-water window: one operator calendar gives January to February and June to July with closures in April and May, while Shearwater describes high water as roughly January to April depending on rainfall. Treat any fixed month list as approximate, because the river decides, not the calendar.
| Months | Water | Run | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| August to early December | Low water | Rapids 1-19 from the Boiling Pot | Most technical rafting, multi-day trips also run |
| January to February | High water (rising) | Rapids 11-23 | Upper rapids closed as unsafe |
| March to May | Peak flood | Often fully closed | Sources differ on exact closure months, typically April-May in high-flood years |
| June to July | High water (dropping) | Rapids 11-23 | Restarts when levels allow, dates vary by year |
How the Season Shapes Your Booking
Multi-day rafting only exists in low water. Shearwater schedules overnight, two-night and four-day trips between roughly August and early December, camping on sandy riverside beaches in the gorge. On the Zambia bank, Bundu Adventures splits its year into low water from July to January with half-day, full-day and a longer 'Test the Best' run, and high water from February to June with half-day trips only, plus multi-day trips up to six days all the way to Lake Kariba with an optional helicopter exit from the gorge.
If rafting the full stretch from Rapid 1 matters to you, book inside the low-water window and confirm the put-in with your operator close to the date.
- Low water, roughly August to early December: full run, biggest rapids, multi-day options.
- High water: fewer rapids, put-in at Rapid 11, half-day formats.
- Peak flood: the river can close entirely, so build flexibility into your plans.
Sources: Shearwater Victoria Falls, Victoria Falls Guide, Bundu Adventures, todo.africa
The Rapids of the Batoka Gorge
The run covers roughly 23 km of the Batoka Gorge on Grade 4 and 5 water, with rapids numbered from 1 below the falls down to 25 further downstream. The river is officially graded Class V overall, the highest grade given to a commercially rafted river.
Named Rapids You Will Hear About
Guides know the rapids by number and nickname, and several names come up in every booking conversation. Rapid 1 is the Devil's Toilet Bowl, taken straight out of the Boiling Pot below the bridge. Rapid 5 is Stairway to Heaven and Rapid 9 is Commercial Suicide, and both are run only when water levels allow.
Sources list Morning Glory, The Terminator, The Washing Machine and Judgement Day among the named Grade 5 rapids on the low-water run, but do not publish their rapid numbers or individual grades in the material we reviewed, so those cells say so. Between the big drops sit calmer pools where you can swim and recover before the next one.
| Rapid | Name | Grade | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Devil's Toilet Bowl | Grade 5 | Start of the low-water run, by the Boiling Pot |
| 5 | Stairway to Heaven | Grade 5 | Run only when water levels allow |
| 9 | Commercial Suicide | Grade 5 | Run only when water levels allow |
| Not stated | Morning Glory | Grade 5 (named) | Among the named Grade 5 rapids on the low-water run |
| Not stated | The Terminator | Grade 5 (named) | Among the named Grade 5 rapids on the low-water run |
| Not stated | The Washing Machine | Grade 5 (named) | Among the named Grade 5 rapids on the low-water run |
| Not stated | Judgement Day | Grade 5 (named) | Among the named Grade 5 rapids on the low-water run |
| 11 to 23 | High-water stretch | Grade 4-5 | Start point shifts here at high water, about 10 km below the falls |
| 14 to 25 | Maano half-day stretch | Class 4 and 5 | The rapids covered by the Livingstone half-day listing |
Oar Boats and Paddle Boats
Two raft types run the gorge. On an oar boat a single oarsman on an aluminium frame controls the raft while passengers hold on. On a paddle boat every passenger paddles on the guide's commands, which is the format most days use.
An oar boat can be arranged on request for a large-enough group. If you want the full-body version of the day, ask for a paddle boat when you book.
- Paddle boat: everyone paddles, the default on most days.
- Oar boat: the guide rows, passengers hold on, available on request for groups.
Rafting from Zimbabwe or Zambia
Operators on both banks put clients into the same Batoka Gorge rapids, from different access points and with different hikes. Your choice usually comes down to which town you sleep in.
The Zimbabwe Side: Victoria Falls Town
The listing on this site from Victoria Falls town is Shockwave Adventures' full-day trip, from $180 per person for a listed 6 hours. Shockwave offers half-stretch, full-stretch and high-water options, lunch, an open bar and all gear, with hotel pickup in Victoria Falls Town or a meeting point in town centre behind the Bata building. Minimum age on the booking page is 13.
The Viator price summary shows up to $80 in extra charges, and the listing excludes the national park fee and photos and video. Shearwater, the most established operator on the river, has run rafting here since 1985 and its day trip is listed on third-party booking sites at roughly $149-160 per person before the park fee.
- Full stretch from Rapid 1 in low water, the classic line.
- Hotel pickup in town, open truck transport to the gorge.
- Access to Shearwater's multi-day low-water trips.
The Zambia Side: Livingstone
From Livingstone, the listing on this site is Maano Adventures' half-day trip, from $140 per person for a listed 4 hours, running rapids 14 to 25 with a captain and a safety kayaker, lunch, and photos and video included. Pickup is available in Livingstone, Victoria Falls or Kasane, though a Kasane pickup costs $40 extra, and the national park fee is $10. The listing says it is not suitable for children under 12.
Bundu Adventures and Safari Par Excellence also run from the Zambian bank, with Bundu offering formats from a few hours up to a six-day trip to Lake Kariba.
- Half-day format, photos and video already in the price.
- Pickup in Livingstone, Victoria Falls or Kasane.
- Park fee of $10 collected by the operator.
Borders, Visas and the Re-Entry Problem
If you sleep on one bank and raft from the other, you cross the border, and visa rules matter. The KAZA UniVisa costs US$50 and covers multiple entries between Zimbabwe and Zambia for up to 30 days within a 12-month period, issued at Victoria Falls Airport, Livingstone Airport and other points for nationals of roughly 50-plus eligible countries. It is the clean answer if you plan to move between the towns.
One reviewer of the Livingstone half day was picked up in Victoria Falls without multi-entry visas, and the group paid $210 between three people to re-enter Zimbabwe, so sort the visa before booking a trip that crosses. The Victoria Falls town and Livingstone drive is about 14-15 km across the bridge, roughly 14 minutes without border time. The Zimbabwe or Zambia guide compares the two bases in detail.
Sources: ZambiaTourism.com, Siyabona Africa, tour listing data
The low-water put-in below the bridge.
What Rafting Costs
The tour price is only the start. Park fees, photos, visas and gratuities sit on top, and the figures differ by operator and platform.
Trip Prices Compared
The table gathers the listings on this site alongside operator-published and third-party figures for the established operators. Listing prices are from prices per person read from the booking pages. Shearwater's own day-trip price is not published on its site, so the range shown is what third-party sites list, and the published park fee schedules differ between operators, which is stated rather than resolved.
| Trip | Price | Duration | Extras | Park fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shockwave Adventures full day, Victoria Falls (listing) | from $180 | 6 hours listed | Viator summary shows up to $80 in extras, photos and video extra | National park fee extra |
| Maano Adventures half day, Livingstone (listing) | from $140 | 4 hours listed | Photos and video included, $40 Kasane pickup extra | $10 collected at check-in |
| Shearwater day trip (third-party sites) | about $149-160 | not stated per site | Photos and video extra, price quoted at check-in | $12 per person, per Shearwater's own site |
| Aggregated operator pricing, half day | about $130 | half day | not stated | varies |
| Aggregated operator pricing, full day | about $160 | full day | not stated | varies |
Park Fees, Photos and the Small Print
Park fees are collected separately. Shearwater's own site lists a National Park Fee of US$12 per person excluded from the tour price, while Wild Horizons quotes a Parks River Usage Fee of US$10 per person, so confirm the fee with your specific operator. The Maano listing collects $10.
Photos and video are sold after the trip by Shearwater, with no published price, typically quoted at check-in, and the Shockwave listing counts them among extras. Cancellation terms on Shearwater's rafting give a full refund or free reschedule at 24 hours or more before the activity, a 50% refund or a 5% reschedule fee inside 24 hours, and nothing for a no-show. Both rafting listings on this site offer free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start.
Sources: Shearwater Victoria Falls, Wild Horizons, tour listing data
Is Zambezi Rafting Safe?
This is serious water and the honest answer has several parts: guide training, the water itself, wildlife, and your own fitness.
Guides, Insurance and the Safety Record
Shearwater states all its river guides are trained in advanced first aid, with Swift Water Rescue-certified guides on every trip, and carries US$2 million of public liability insurance underwritten by Lloyd's of London. Shockwave advertises a '100% safety record' and top TripAdvisor rankings, but that is the operator's own marketing claim, not an independently audited statistic. No independently compiled fatality or injury statistic for Zambezi whitewater rafting was found in the sources reviewed, and the safety discussion most often cited online traces back to an operator-published article rather than a government or insurance-industry audit.
What can be said plainly is that commercial rafting has run here since the early 1980s, and established international operators run scheduled daily trips that large travel brands sell as standard itineraries.
- Commercial rafting on this stretch began in the early 1980s.
- Shearwater: advanced first aid training, Swift Water Rescue-certified guides on every trip, $2m public liability cover.
- Independent safety statistics: not found in any official source we reviewed.
Crocodiles, Flips and Swimming
The rafted stretch is fast-moving whitewater, not the calm pools upstream of the falls where hippos and crocodiles concentrate. Operators do not list crocodile encounters as a routine hazard on the rafting run itself, unlike on the flatwater cruises above the falls, and the sources reviewed show no confirmed instance of a crocodile encounter within the rafted stretch of the Batoka Gorge. Flips are a normal part of rafting Grade 4-5 water, which is why the Maano listing puts a safety kayaker on the water and operators train guides in rescue.
Operators describe the day as like spending it in a washing machine.
- Crocodiles concentrate on the flat water above the falls, not the rapids below it.
- Flips happen and gear is designed for it, so follow the briefing.
- Leave valuables behind, the day is wet from start to finish.
Age Limits, Fitness and the Climb Out
Age rules differ by listing, so read yours. The Shockwave listing sets minimum age at 13, the Maano listing is not suitable for children under 12, and general operator guidance across Wild Horizons, Shearwater and other main operators puts the standard minimum at 15, with under-18s needing signed parental authorization and no fixed upper age limit for those who can handle the physical demands. Fitness is not optional.
The walk out of the Batoka Gorge at the end of the day is a steep climb Shearwater compares to climbing a 70-storey building, and the gorge drops more than 100 m deep at the falls and over 200 m further downstream. There are rest stops and drink breaks and you go at your own pace, but a reasonable level of fitness is required. Both listings warn the trip is not for pregnant travellers, and the Maano listing excludes heart conditions.
Sources: Shearwater Victoria Falls, Wild Horizons, Shockwave Adventures, tour listing data
A Rafting Day, Start to Finish
Timings below follow the published Shearwater and Victoria Falls Guide schedules for the full low-water day, adjusted for what the listings on this site include.
-
07:00
Hotel pickup
Operators collect you from your hotel between about 7:00 and 7:30 AM. The Shockwave listing also offers a meeting point in Victoria Falls Town centre behind the Bata building, with transport on an open truck with safari seats.
-
07:30
Safety briefing at the gorge edge
Guides run through paddling commands, flip drills and what to do if you end up in the water. This is the moment to mention any medical conditions.
-
08:00
Descent into the gorge
In low water you hike down to the Boiling Pot beneath Victoria Falls Bridge, in the spray of the falls. The gorge drops over 100 m at the falls, so the path down is steep too.
-
08:30
Rapids 1 to 19
Low-water trips start at Rapid 1, the Devil's Toilet Bowl, and run through the named Grade 5 rapids to Rapid 19, with calm pools between the big drops. High-water trips start instead at Rapid 11 and run to Rapid 23.
-
12:30
Lunch at the top of the gorge
Lunch and drinks are served at the top of the gorge. The Maano half-day listing includes lunch at the gorge top, with soft drinks and water on the river.
-
14:30
The climb out
The exit is a steep climb Shearwater compares to a 70-storey building, with rest stops and drink breaks at your own pace. Dry clothes left with the operator's team in the morning are waiting at the top.
-
15:00
Back in town
Shearwater says clients are back at Victoria Falls hotels by about 3:00 PM, while Victoria Falls Guide puts the return around 2:30 PM, so sources differ by half an hour. The afternoon is free, and operators note you can still fit in a sunset cruise or the gorge swing the same day.
Rafting Dos and Don'ts
Small choices make the day easier. These come from operator guidance published by Shearwater, Wild Horizons and the listings on this site.
Do
- Do wear a swimsuit with shorts or cycling shorts, because loose items are lost in the water.
- Do wear sturdy trainers or rafting shoes, because flip-flops come off in the rapids and the gorge path is rough.
- Do bring sunscreen, lip balm and a cap that fits under your helmet, because the sun on the water is relentless.
- Do secure glasses with a strap or leave them behind, because a flip takes them off your face.
- Do leave dry clothes with the operator's team in the morning, because they are waiting for you at the top of the gorge.
Don't
- Don't bring valuables on the river, because operators describe the day as like spending it in a washing machine or dishwasher.
- Don't book the full stretch without honest self-assessment on fitness, because the exit climb equals a 70-storey building.
- Don't assume the river is open in any given month, because peak flood can close rafting entirely.
- Don't book a crossing trip without checking your visa position, because one reviewer reported a $210 re-entry cost.
- Don't skip the safety briefing, because flip drills and paddle commands are what keep a capsize routine rather than scary.
Rafting Trips to Compare
The rafting listings compared on this site differ in length and side. The Shockwave day from Victoria Falls covers the full low-water stretch with lunch and an open bar but charges park fee and photos extra. The Maano half-day from Livingstone is shorter, runs rapids 14 to 25, and includes photos, video and lunch in the price. Neither listing covers multi-day gorge trips, which operators sell directly.
Zambezi River Class IV-V White-Water Rafting from Victoria Falls
The Zimbabwe-side rafting day: choose a half or full stretch of the Batoka Gorge, or the high-water run when the river is up. Lunch, drinks and gear included. Park fee and photos extra.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Shockwave Adventures
Half Day White Water Rafting, Zambezi - Livingstone, Zambia
A shorter rafting morning on rapids 14 to 25, Class 4 and 5, with Zambia's locally owned outfit. Pickup in Livingstone, Victoria Falls or Kasane. Photos, video and lunch included. Park fee $10.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Maano Adventures
Watch Before You Go
A third-party video, embedded from YouTube. We have no relationship with its creator.
Victoria Falls Rafting FAQ
Can I go white water rafting near Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe?
Yes. Commercial rafting runs from the Zimbabwe bank out of Victoria Falls town through the Batoka Gorge on Grade 4-5 water, and has done since the early 1980s. The option listed here is Shockwave Adventures' full-day trip from Victoria Falls from $180, and Shearwater has operated on the river since 1985.
What is the best month to go white water rafting?
Operators and guides consistently point to the low-water season, roughly August to early December, when exposed rocks make the rapids biggest and most technical and trips start at the Boiling Pot. December is described as the last month of excellent conditions. See the full breakdown in the season section.
Is it safe to travel to Victoria Falls now?
The US State Department rates Zimbabwe at Level 2, exercise increased caution, citing crime, and Zambia at Level 1, normal precautions. The UK FCDO publishes no numeric tier for either. For safety on the river itself, read the safety section on guide training, insurance and the honest gaps in public statistics.
Which side of Victoria Falls is better, Zambia or Zimbabwe?
Both banks put rafters into the same gorge, so the choice is mostly about your base and the trip format. Victoria Falls town offers the full low-water run, while Livingstone has a well-priced half day on rapids 14 to 25. The Zimbabwe or Zambia guide compares the towns in detail.
How much does Victoria Falls white water rafting cost?
The listings on this site start at $140 for a half day from Livingstone and from $180 for a full day from Victoria Falls town, with the national park fee on top, listed at $10 on the Maano trip and US$12 on Shearwater's own site. Third-party sites list Shearwater's day at roughly $149-160 before the fee. Full figures are in the cost section.
How fit do I need to be to raft the Batoka Gorge?
You need a reasonable level of fitness, mostly for the exit climb, which Shearwater compares to climbing a 70-storey building, with rest stops at your own pace. Both rafting listings on this site warn against rafting in pregnancy, and the Maano listing also excludes heart conditions. See the fitness and age limits section.
Are there crocodiles on the rafting stretch?
Hippos and crocodiles concentrate on the calm water upstream of the falls, and operators do not list crocodile encounters as a routine hazard on the fast-moving rafted stretch of the Batoka Gorge. The sources reviewed show no confirmed crocodile encounter within the rafted run in the sources reviewed. The flatwater wildlife is best seen on a sunset cruise on the Zambezi.